An American worker spends a minimum of 2,080 hours each year working on behalf of their employer. Many workers will work an entire career without sustaining an injury, although a growing number have already been injured during their work lives. Injuries on the job are not entirely uncommon. However, proving the company is liable for an injury can be an ongoing legal battle. According to Virginia law, injured workers can receive compensation for their injuries; because of insurer greed, that money won’t be given easily. Employers don’t take claims like this lightly, and without legal representation, you may have a harder time winning your worker’s compensation claim.
For 25 years, the Virginia workers’ comp attorneys at CHASENBOSCOLO have battled insurer greed and the many injustices that come with workers’ compensation denials. Because big-name insurance companies have the resources to fight claims, and they often do. This means the average Virginia worker will back down when the insurer scares them into submission. Your claim deserves to be thoroughly reviewed, and at CHASENBOSCOLO, we can help you fight for your rights to be fairly compensated for your work-related injury.
Denied workers’ compensation benefits you’re rightfully owed? Don’t let the system beat you down – put us to work for you by calling (703) 538-1138 or reaching out to us online today.
The Comprehensive Workers Compensation Team at CHASENBOSCOLO can help you
Workers’ compensation is a type of insurance that Virginia requires most business owners to carry. This insurance provides compensation to workers who were injured or became ill on the job from some job-related event or condition. The specific rules vary from state to state, so it’s important to discuss your case with a knowledgeable attorney in the state of your employment and injury. The attorneys of CHASENBOSCOLO are well versed in the workers’ compensation laws of Virginia.
When an injury or illness occurs on the job, the first thing to do is get immediate medical treatment. The employer should be notified of the accident right away, and a formal report should be prepared. The injured worker or the employer can prepare this report. The employer’s human resources department should be able to advise the employee about how the workers’ compensation process works, but you should immediately contact an experienced Virginia workers’ compensation attorney to represent you. Claims should be filed within the first 24-48 hours following the incident, and having your own lawyer will help you preserve all your rights throughout the process and make sure you’re not bullied by the insurance company.
At CHASENBOSCOLO, we have your best interests in mind when handling your case. You deserve to know your rights and to have an advocate for your care, treatment, and for the compensation you deserve for any losses you incur as a result of the on-the-job injury. We are available to discuss your case, and we will fight for your rights. Call us at (703) 538-1138 today to schedule your consultation with our team.
Employers with two or more employees are required to carry insurance to protect employees in the event they’re injured performing duties they’re approved to perform at work. The insurance policy itself provides dual protection; employers are shielded from lawsuits brought on by employees, and employees are guaranteed cash and medical benefits if they’re injured at work. Workers’ compensation is an insurance policy that employers carry to cover the costs an employee’s work injury or illness creates.
If you are an employee rather than an independent contractor, you have met the most important criteria for filing for workers’ compensation benefits.
In order for claims to be brought, the employee must have:
Employee misconduct is not compensable under Virginia law, nor is work performed outside of what an employer had previously approved. Gradual injuries or those traumatic injuries induced by repetitive motion are generally not covered, either.
Worker’s compensation benefits include payment for medical care, disability benefits, and rehabilitation benefits. In order to qualify, you must be an employee of the insured employer, and your illness or injury must have arisen or occurred while you were performing your job duties.
Generally, workers’ compensation benefits are awarded on a “no-fault” basis, which means that as long as the employee was not under the influence of drugs or alcohol, if all other conditions are met, their claim will likely be compensable. An employee may be required to submit to a drug test following the accident. If a worker is killed on the job, survivor benefits may also be available.
Personal injury claims and worker’s compensation claims are different in that “pain and suffering” is not a factor in workers’ compensation claims. Personal injury claims do allow for pain and suffering damages. In Virginia, if an employee is injured on the job, they generally cannot sue the employer. Rather, they must go through the workers’ compensation system. There are a few narrowly defined exceptions to this rule. One of the exceptions is when the employer does not carry workers’ compensation insurance as required. Then a lawsuit may be brought against the employer.
Our team at CHASENBOSCOLO handles cases like yours every day. Our attorneys understand the rights of our clients. Call us today at (703) 538-1138 to schedule your consultation.
Employees may wish to pursue workers’ compensation benefits in any work-related accident, including:
There are numerous injuries one could sustain, many of which could put workers out of commission for months, even years.
Virginia’s workers’ compensation department provides information that can help employers and employees know their rights and obligations under state law. Hiring an attorney who is familiar with Virginia’s workers’ compensation system is your best chance at obtaining full compensation for your injuries.
CHASENBOSCOLO handles workers’ compensation claims just like yours all the time. If you have been injured on the job and are unsure of your rights, call us today at (703) 538-1138 so we can discuss your case and help you pursue the benefits you are owed for your injury.
You need a compassionate attorney from CHASENBOSCOLO to walk you through every step of your claim
Benefits available to injured workers include:
Other forms of compensation, such as mileage reimbursement, could be available to qualifying applicants. The biggest hurdle facing most employees can be actually getting the compensation rightfully owed through the worker’s compensation benefits provided by their employer. When you have an attorney on your side advocating for your rights, you can focus on healing while your attorney handles everything associated with your workers’ compensation claim.
In Virginia, loved ones of deceased workers may qualify for death benefits under Virginia Code Section 65.2-512. To qualify for benefits, the survivor must be:
Much like regular workers’ compensation benefits, an application for benefits is necessary. The complex nature of the application process compels many survivors to hire an attorney. At CHASENBOSCOLO, we understand what you are going through and the delicate situation you are in. Our team will help guide you through the legal process to resolve the case so that you and your family can get the benefits you need and find some closure.
If approved, dependents can receive up to 500 weeks of benefits at 66.7% of the worker’s wages if full dependence is proven. Death benefits can be filed up to nine (9) years after an accident or diagnosis of an occupational disease as defined by Virginia Code. Families deserve to have their rights explained to them. Our firm believes that the employee and their family should know their legal rights and have someone willing to fight for those legal rights. If you need help, we are here. You don’t have to go through this alone.
To avoid delays in your workers’ compensation claim, follow these steps to assure all bases are covered:
Once you’ve begun the workers’ compensation process, an employer cannot retaliate against you. They cannot make your injury the sole basis for terminating employment, either. You have the right to seek treatment and compensation for an injury or illness that has occurred. Document any interaction between yourself and the employer up until determination of approval or denial is made by the Workers’ Compensation Commission in Richmond, Virginia. Our firm can help with your claims and issues that arise as a result of your claims. Call us today at (703) 538-1138 to schedule your case evaluation. We’d be honored to help you with your case.
So, you’ve applied for benefits but received a denial. Does this mean you’ll never receive assistance? No! In fact, there are options available to workers who’ve been denied workers’ compensation in Virginia.
Here’s how a typical appeal could work:
Once the Court of Appeals has made its determination, you’ll either receive benefits retroactive to your initial application, or will need to discuss your options with an attorney if one hasn’t been retained.
Injured workers are given two (2) years to file their claim in order to qualify for compensation.
Employers must file notice with the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission within ten (10) days of the worker’s injury detailing the accident.
Virginia workers can draw up to 500 weeks of benefits unless the injury caused permanent disability or incapacitation.
Workers who are denied medical care should phone the Commission immediately; if they’ve retained counsel, notify the attorney handling the claim.
According to Virginia Code Title 65.2. Workers’ Compensation § 65.2-811. Liability of insurer, that assessment is correct. However, their liability starts when the injury is proven; if the worker cannot provide substantial information backing their claim, the policy doesn’t have to pay out. Technically, an insurance policy cannot be issued to an employer without the above-mentioned liability met by the insurer.
Employers who send workers out on deliveries or otherwise require them to drive are responsible for their care in the same manner they are on premises. If an employee is injured when another vehicle hits them or is injured while operating faulty equipment located on a delivery truck, a workers’ compensation claim can be filed.
Workers’ compensation is a benefit that injured employees should receive when they’ve performed duties according to regulations but were injured due to employer negligence. While these benefits are paid through the employer’s insurer, the system can make getting benefits much harder than necessary.
Put CHASENBOSCOLO to work on your workers’ compensation claim from the beginning, and your chances of approval will drastically increase. Besides, you’re injured and deserve to take this time to recuperate; why not let professionals handle your claim to make sure you get what you are owed?
Schedule your free workers’ compensation consultation today by phoning (703) 538-1138 today.